Writing abounds in 2012

Greetings all.  Hope you had a fantastic New Year's Day for 2012.  My last week has been tremendous with a lot of time mapping out all the various projects I've got for the coming year.  I thought it might help to go over a few, if not for your interest then my own as an exercise in keeping track of it all.

First, I've completed several edits of a screenplay based on my horror comic Devolution.  The 94-page script expands a bit on the 4-issue comic, and I think it filled in some key gaps that I couldn't squeeze in the comic.  My plan now is to submit it to a variety of screenwriting contests as well as agents and see if I can generate interest in it.  It's a good year for zombie-related stories with AMC's The Walking Dead going strong and the upcoming movie World War Z starring Brad Pitt due in December 2012.

As for comics, I've got several independent projects in the works along with new pitches.  These include:

Redo - what if an aged superhero on his deathbed in the future is sent back in time to today to re-live his entire life over again, remembering everything that happened to him the first time.  That's the premise behind this action/adventure that asks, "How would you redo your life?"  Art is being handled by the amazing William Allan Reyes.

ClosetWorld - issue 1 has generated fantastic reader response, and we're well on our way through issue 2 pages with the same great team of artist John Amor, colorist Thomas Bonvillain, and letterer Chris Studabaker.  Once we're further ahead on pages, I'll start to release the installments on ComicCritique.com.  I also continue to look for an independent publisher to release this one in print, as I know it would be a hit.

The Chosen - an indy pitch I'm developing with artist Sedat Oezgen.  Imagine a special ops military team armed with alien technology going on covert missions, only to find out this highly destructive technology has found its way to less friendly governments.  That's the premise behind this pitch.  Our plan is to produce 9 pages along with a breakdown of the story to show prospective publishers.

The Forgotten - this fairy tale adventure follows Lucy, a young girl who lives in the dream realm of the Forgotten, a place for those dreams who have been forgotten by their dreamers.  Little Lucy joins her dreamers' other forgotten dreams to find a way to travel back to the realm of the Remembered.  This pitch is currently in the early stages of development, and the plan is to produce 5 to 7 pages of art along with a synopsis.

I'm also talking with an artist about possible Christian comics pitches including one called Joseph, that would follow the life of Joseph in the book of Genesis, but place his adventures in a science fiction universe.  The other is a story called Omega, following a group of Christian special operations soldiers who make up "Omega Force," a team dedicated to tracking down terrorist events aimed at destroying Christianity worldwide.  The team's first mission would be to stop a plot aimed at sending suicide bombers to various American megachurches all on the same Sunday.  In the vein of Frank Peretti's This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness novels, this story would follow the action both in the physical and spiritual realms.  I tagged it as "where modern warfare meets spiritual warfare." 

Despite not being to work on the Captain America project for Marvel Comics, I still have a few possible projects in the works.  I'm talking to a couple editors, and although they have to tighten their financial belts along with the rest of the country, there's still a possibility I could be doing some work for them.

It dosn't stop there. I'm chipping away at the early stages of a nonfiction book called Alive that I won't go into detail here (yet). I can't wait to get together a book proposal and send it out to possible agents and publishers. This is one story that simply MUST be told.

Finally there are my novels, The Calling and HONOR, both at amazon.com.  They are now discounted to $.99, so I hope everyone out there orders them and checks them out and shares this with everyone else.  And even more importantly for those of you who have read it, PLEASE PLEASE review it on amazon for me (particuarly if your last name is not Yocum!).  For me, amazon reviews go a long way when I'm browsing for a new novel, and I'd love to see more reviews on the site.  I have a lot of people who have written me telling me how much they liked both books, and I'm hoping to see those comments in public for everyone else to see.

That's what is on the writing plate for 2012.  You can see that it's going to be a busy year, but that's just the way I like it.  As always, I'll keep writing and I hope you'll keep reading.

Matt